Yellow Curry Chicken Recipe

Hey guys.

Today I wanted to post this recipe I just tried. It was pretty good and I feel like it was on the healthier side of tasty meals. I’m not sure if this qualifies as a THM (trim healthy mama) meal or if it’s not plan approved but if you want to give it a try, it’s pretty good. So what I made was yellow curry chicken. I’ve never been big on curry so this was new and different for me to try and to make on my own. It may not be true to how it’s supposed to be made but it didn’t turn out too bad. I actually liked it. So here’s what you’ll need:

  • Chicken breasts
  • Yellow Curry sauce
  • Peas
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Coconut oil or butter

028

We got the chicken from Costco, brown rice and veggies from Winco, Coconut oil from Cost plus world market but you can find it pretty much anywhere now, and the yellow curry sauce from Fresh and Easy but Trader Joe’s also has it.

Directions:

  • Thaw chicken breasts if frozen. Then cut into bite size pieces.
  • In skillet, add enough coconut oil to cover the bottom then add the chicken pieces and cook until there’s no pink in the middle. Once chicken is done you may want to drain the liquid from the skillet.
  • Cut onions however you like then add to skillet with your peas and carrots. I just used a mixture from the frozen section from the store. It might be easier if you get the kind that you cook in the microwave and cook as directed on the bag, then add to the skillet if you’re short on time. Otherwise the peas and carrots may take a while to cook. Cover skillet and let simmer until veggies are done.
  • Once veggies are done, pour curry sauce over everything, stir and simmer and let sauce thicken.

I tried making this a one pan dinner but if that doesn’t work for you then you can cook everything separately then in a large bowl mix everything together and serve. You can also serve with rice. I made a rice medley that we got from Trader Joe’s and it was really good. I also made roasted baby golden potatoes. But you can make whatever your family likes. If you want it spicy you can add hot sauce to it too. I’m not big on spice so I just added some pepper. I don’t cook a lot with salt but you can add salt to it too.

It turned out pretty good in my opinion so if you’re looking for something new or different that you usually don’t make then I would give this a try. It was filling and there was plenty of left overs. Kyle took some to work and shared with a couple of co workers that said they liked it as well. So that’s always a plus!

Let me know if you try this and if you did anything different. Don’t forget to follow and subscribe! Thanks.

XOXO

Kristy

One thought on “Yellow Curry Chicken Recipe

  1. Sounds yummy! I think as far as THM is concerned, I think it might be a crossover due depending on if you used a lot of coconut oil and then the rice and potatoes. I’ve heard rave reviews on the THM FB page that you could use radishes (yup! radishes) in place of potatoes and it’s supposed to taste just potatoes! It keeps the carbs down when using coconut oil to cook with. I haven’t tried it yet, but plan on it next time I make a roast! Potatoes are pretty starchy – so it’s recommended to keep these to a minimum as they could prohibit your weight loss. BUT – remember, crossovers are still a healthy meal!! So all is good as far as healthy eating! Good job! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

