Burrito Bowl Recipe

Hi guys.

I know last week I did a recipe but I wanted to share this one as well. It’s a homemade burrito bowl. I think THM (trim healthy mama) calls it a yum bowl. I wanted to make my own after having Chipotle. I really like the one from there but sometimes you just can’t afford to buy out so I wanted to make my own.

This recipe is super easy and quick. The plus side is that it’s healthy too. I’m not one to count calories or carbs and with this I feel like you really don’t need to. It’s also really easy to adjust to what your family wants. One tip is that if you are watching your fat intake, if you add cheese you will want to skip on the avocado and vice versa.

001

So this is what you will need:

  • Brown rice
  • Black, Pinto, and Kidney beans
  • Cilantro
  • Lime juice
  • Cheese
  • Avocado
  • Frozen Corn
  • Salsa or hot sauce

Directions:

Boil water with lime juice and add rice. Cook rice as directed. Rinse and drain beans and set aside. Cook corn in microwave or steam. Once rice is done, add a few shakes of cilantro and mix. Next, add beans and corn and mix well. If using cheese, serve in bowl, then top with cheese and microwave until cheese is melted. Then top with salsa or hot sauce. If skipping cheese, then cut avocado and top with salsa or hot sauce.

That’s it! Really simple and quick. It has become one of my most used “go-to” meals for sure. It’s pretty filling and like I said before I don’t count calories or carbs, I mostly just watch how much I’m eating. Let me know if you guys try it and if you do anything different. Thanks for stopping by!

XOXO

Kristy

Leave a Reply

