My “Go-To” Makeup Look

Hey guys.

Today’s post is going to be on the makeup look I did a couple weeks ago. This is my “go to” look, especially when I am in a hurry or we make last minute plans.

20160227_155405

As you can see, I didn’t want anything that was going to feel too heavy on my face. So the first thing I did was prime (sorry I forgot to add a pic). What I have been using for a primer is the Nivea men’s aftershave balm. I’m sure you’ve all heard how great of a primer it is and it’s so affordable. I get the one for sensitive skin mostly because the scent isn’t as strong and after it soaks into your skin you don’t even smell it anymore. I feel like it really makes your makeup last.

I have oily/combo skin and before I discovered the aftershave, the Benefit Cosmetics Bigger Than BB Big Easy BB Creme (or whatever this stuff is) used to clump up in my dry areas and then slide off in my oily areas. I didn’t use it for a long time so I thought I’d give it another try using the aftershave and it actually lasted. I didn’t clump up or slide off at all. It was amazing! The shade I got is in “Light”

Next, I used the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser in the lightest shade available to me.

After that I set my face with the NYX Stay Matte But Not Flat Powder Foundation. I usually always do this no matter what I am using just because I like the extra coverage. This has been my go to product to set my face for the last couple of years. I really like it and it’s more affordable than other similar high end products out there.

Then to set my under eye area, I use the Anastasia Of Beverly Hills Contour Kit the light to medium palette. They have a medium to tan palette that looks beautiful as well. I used the shade Banana, which is a yellow shade, to set my under eye area but sometimes I will use both Banana and Vanilla (vanilla is the more pink shade). I also used this palette for my bronzing and contouring. When I contour, I usually just do a light contour. I have to practice my heavy contour before posting anything about that. Haha The shades I use the most in this palette for that are Fawn (is kind of an ashy brown) and Java (to me I feel like this is more of a neutral brown) and then the last colors in the palette, in case you were wondering, are Sand ( a pinky toned highlight) and Havana ( which is like a red based brown)

For blush, I used the Morphe Brushes Blush palette. It’s call 9b. I love this palette! I just wish this palette had names or numbers for the colors. I used the first shade in the second row. All the shades are so pretty and easy to blend and pigmented! If your looking for a blush palette I highly recommend this one!

20160227_155739

Next is brows, eyes, and lips. Like I said I just went with something simple and just an “everyday” look. So for my eyebrows I just used the Chella Eyebrow Color in the shade Tantalizing Taupe and then set them with the ELF Eyebrow and Eyelash Gel.

Then, again sorry not pictured, I used the Urban Decay Primer Potion to prime my eyelids. I used the three eye shadow palette from NYX. I got it in an ipsy bag one month so I’m not sure if this is something that is available to buy or something that was just made for ipsy. All my stuff is packed away right now so I’m not sure what the shades are called.

First I used the lightest shade all over my lid. I didn’t blend it up past my crease, I just kept it low on the lid. Then, I used that middle shade on a fluffy brush and blended that in my crease, starting on the outer corner of the eye so that most of the product sits there and then gets blended into the inner corner of the eye. I didn’t use the black shade this time but I did use the eye shadow pigment we got in our ipsy bag last month from Naked Cosmetics. I just kept that on the outer corner of the eye and blended down just a little bit and then a little into the crease, so in that outer “V” area.

Then I just applied the Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara. I didn’t curl my lashes this time. I kind of feel like I don’t really need to with this mascara. It gives me the length and volume that I am looking for.

So for probably my favorite part of doing my makeup, is the highlight. I almost always, since getting it, reach for the BECCA Cosmetics highlight that Jaclyn Hill created called “Champagne Pop”. I absolutely love this highlight and a little goes a long way so you don’t need much. I find that I just want to keep applying it even when I don’t need any more. I love it so much!!!!

I never really know what to do for my lips because I just feel like not matter what I do, they are just so little. Especially that upper lip. It kind of drives me crazy. So I never really do anything other that some sort of version of a nude/pink lip. So I used the NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien. Then I just topped it off with a sheer pink gloss from NYX.

20160227_154800

This is how it turned out.

That’s it! That’s pretty much my go to makeup. I hope you enjoyed this long post! Be sure to subscribe and share with your friends. Thanks.

XOXO

Kristy

P.S.- Leave a comment down below and tell me if you want to see a makeup collection (broken down into categories), what I use to do my hair, or like a perfume/body spray collection? Let me know. Thanks.

 

Leave a Reply

